top of page

Walking and Talking Feminist Rhetorics Part III

Before reading this section, I already knew that “nurturance is central to the work of empowerment” (326) and that “persuasion results from love,” (230) but I learned that I do, in fact, know this. I believe these statements with deep conviction, but I lacked the confidence to affirm my beliefs or even illuminate my thoughts as such until reading these chapters. In reading these discussions of so many inspirational women and instances, I’m learning to question my rhetorical power as a female living in a world that has been significantly changed by these figures and even these rhetorical authors.

I was most intrigued by the stories that built the cases (learning about the monuments from Mattingly (291) just made me giddy with intrigue). I had a very happy upbringing in a Bible based Southern Baptist church, so I was most familiar with the stories referencing the women of the Bible. The characters like Eve, Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of James, Aquila and Priscilla, Hannah, Esther, and Deborah emerge from stories I’ve heard many times. While my parents affirmed agency in every way that they raised their three daughters, simply existing in a culture that went to church camps and invited guest preachers brought me in close contact with speakers (male and female) that believe the voices of Christian women must sound a certain way. I would be intrigued to learn more about the conversations started by Donawerth (228) and Zaeske (241-245) particularly in relation to the current (and more recently historic) rhetorical moves by women of all religions. How important is a religious angle to a woman rhetor when addressing a public or counterpublic? Stemming from that question, I am not entirely sure I understand where the consensus falls on whether or not women are in a public, counterpublic, or a “room of their own.” Even as I begin to sort through the terms, I’m not sure whether or not the researchers are happy or sad about the definitions and terminology. Is it good that women are (or were once) a counterpublic? Or is that so bad that it is taboo to even ask about?

Several of the chapters (particularly the presentation of the cultural debate about gender roles and conduct books by Johnson (280) and the learning of crafts by Dow and Tonn (315)) made me think of Pinterest. An analysis of the roles in which Pinterest encourages but also empowers (as compared to historic conduct books) might make for a fascinating seminar project. The images of perfection (281) have changed in format and medium of delivery, but perhaps not in existence.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page